

STATE OF ALABAMA **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 12, 2017

CONTACT: Communication 334-242-9950 comm@alsde.edu

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Betty Peters District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV Vice President

> Ella B. Bell District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Jeff Newman District VII

Mary Scott Hunter, J.D. District VIII President Pro Tem

Michael Sentance, J.D., L.L.M. Secretary and Executive Officer



ALABAMA TEACHER OF THE YEAR DISTRICT FINALISTS EXEMPLIFY EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION



Montgomery, Ala. – Sixteen finalists have emerged from a group of over 140 exceptional educators from the across the state who submitted applications for the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program, one of the oldest and most prestigious award programs for teachers.

The pool will soon be narrowed down to four, and the 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year will be announced at a ceremony hosted by the Alabama State Board of Education and the Alabama State Department of Education on Wednesday, May 10, 2017, at 6 p.m. at the RSA Plaza Terrace in Montgomery.

State Superintendent of Education Michael Sentance said, "Well-prepared, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative elementary and secondary teachers are essential to achieving excellence in Alabama's schools. The 16 Alabama Teacher of the Year finalists are shining examples of professionalism and dedication to Alabama's most valued asset – its children."

Alabama's Teacher of the Year spends the majority of the school year serving as a full-time ambassador for education and the teaching profession as well as presenting workshops to various groups. Additionally, Alabama's representative is a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year.

Speaking on her experiences as a previous finalist and as Alabama's current Teacher of the Year, Dana Jacobson said, serving this year as the 2016-2017 Alabama Teacher of the Year "has been both a gift and a responsibility, an honor and a privilege."

-more-

ALABAMA TEACHER OF THE YEAR DISTRICT FINALISTS EXEMPLIFY EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

April 10, 2017

"This year has been one of the top learning experiences of my life and has validated what I believe: Visionary teachers across the state – with support from courageous administrators – are collaborating to find innovative ways to engage students and prepare them for success in the future, and layers of resources to support teachers and students yield amazing results," Jacobson said, noting that throughout the year, people have stopped her to share stories of those outstanding teachers who changed their lives.

"To elevate the teaching profession and student success, we must share our stories and collaborate with all stakeholders as together we move education in our state and country forward," she said. "Please join me in congratulating the 16 district finalists who represent shining stars in classrooms across Alabama. As these teachers step forward to share their stories, I know that the dialogue about education will be enriched, broadened, and strengthened."

An elementary and secondary teacher was named from each of the eight Alabama State Board of Education districts in March. Local board of education members, a local superintendent or representative, the current district Teachers of the Year, and a representative from higher education served as committee members in selecting nominees.

<u>Alabama Teacher of the Year Program</u> 2017-2018 District Teachers of the Year

Elementary

District	Name	School	System
I	Chasity Collier	Dawes Intermediate School	Mobile County School System
II	Charlotte D. Hartley	Montana Street Magnet School	Dothan City School System
III	Ami Reeves Brooks	Indian Valley Elementary School	Sylacauga City School System
IV	Dr. Tara M. Foster	Brighton Middle School	Jefferson County School System
V	Jean Renae Allen	Pike Road School	Pike Road City School System
VI	Erica Rutherford	Cullman City Primary School	Cullman City School System

ALABAMA TEACHER OF THE YEAR DISTRICT FINALISTS EXEMPLIFY EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

April 10, 2017

VII	Amy Foster Anderson	Crestline Elementary School	Mountain Brook City School System
VIII	Mary M. Tate	Mt. Carmel Elementary School	Madison County School System

Secondary

District	Name	School	System
I	Jamie Nicole Minoso	Daphne High School	Baldwin County School System
II	Emily S. Sassano	Benjamin Russell High School	Alexander City School System
III	Robert Paul McEwan	Hoover High School	Hoover City School System
IV	Natalie Ann Roig	Paul W. Bryant High School	Tuscaloosa City School System
V	Monica Pontoo	Bullock County High School	Bullock County School System
VI	Mickie Wafler Gibbs	Arab Junior High School	Arab City School System
VII	Malysa Ornett Chandler	Shades Valley High School	Jefferson County School System
VIII	Thomasena R. Garner	Liberty Middle School	Madison City School System