# MINUTES

# SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

### GADSDEN COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD MAX D. WALKER ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 35 MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. BLVD. QUINCY, FLORIDA

# June 16, 2021

## 6:00 P.M.

The meeting was open to the public and electronically recorded.

The following Board members were present: Mr. Leroy McMillan, Chairman; Mr. Steve Scott; Mrs. Karema D. Dudley; Ms. Cathy S. Johnson; and Mr. Charlie D. Frost. Also present were Mr. Elijah Key, Superintendent and Secretary to the Board; Mrs. Deborah Minnis, Attorney for the Board; and others.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman, Mr. Leroy McMillan, at 6:00 p.m.

2. OPENING PRAYER

The opening prayer was led by Mr. Charlie D. Frost.

3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Recited in unison.

- 4. PERSONNEL MATTERS (resignations, retirements, recommendations, leaves of absence, terminations of services, volunteers, and job descriptions)
  - a. Personnel 2020 2021
  - b. Personnel 2021 2022

Mr. Steve Scott made a motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation on agenda item #'s 4a & b. The motion was seconded by Mr. Charlie D. Frost and carried unanimously.

ACTION REQUESTED: The Superintendent recommended approval.

## 5. **RECOGNITIONS**

Mr. Key introduced the following administrators for the 2021- 22 school year: Stewart Street Elementary School – Ms. Lisa Robinson, Principal; Mr. Christopher Germany, Assistant Principal; and Dr. Thaddius Green, Assistant Principal

Carter Parramore Academy – Major Willie Jackson, Principal Gadsden Central Academy, Mrs. LaRhonda Frazier-Lee, Assistant Principal

Gadsden Elementary Magnet School – Ms. Allysun Davis, Principal

Chattahoochee Elementary School - Ms. Camry Floyd, Principal

Greensboro Elementary School – Mr. Stephen Pitts, Principal; and Ms. Zola Akins, Assistant Principal

West Gadsden Middle School – Ms. Juliette Fisher Jackson, Principal; Ms. Shannon Williams, Assistant Principal; and Ms. Kimberly Cummings, Assistant Principal

George W. Munroe Elementary School – Mrs. Germaine Kirkland, Principal; and Ms. Latoyer Hankerson, Assistant Principal

James A. Shanks Middle School – Mr. Michael Sneed, Principal; Mrs. Abbye Dixon Zanders, Assistant Principal; and Ms. Tireshia Galloway, Assistant Principal

Havana Magnet School – Ms. Thelma Hickman, Principal; Mrs. Sandra Riggins, Assistant; and Mrs. Deborah Shaffer, Assistant Principal

Gadsden County High School – Mrs. Chelsea Matthews Franklin, Principal; Mr. O'Hara Black, Assistant Principal; Ms. Brooke Solz, Assistant Principal; and Ms. Kysha Hopkins, Assistant Principal

Ms. Pamela Jones was recognized as the current Principal of Gadsden County High School.

Mr. Key stated that he has received many public requests for use of facilities (school gym). He stated that the Board's approval was needed for the public's use of the facilities. He recommended the approval for the public's use of the facilities.

Following discussion Mr. Steve Scott made a motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation to allow the use of facilities by the public. The motion was seconded by Ms. Cathy S. Johnson and carried unanimously.

Mr. McMillan stated that he wants to make Gadsden schools a model system. He stated that the district is charting a new course with a new captain. He stated that he believes that Mr. Key is being supported by the Board with personnel decisions. He and the Board welcomed and congratulated all the administrators.

6. The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.