## April 21, 2016

The Oneida Special School District Board of Education met in a called session on Thursday, April 21, 2016, at 6:00 p.m., with the following board members present: Dr. Danny Cross, Mrs. Dorothy Watson, Mr. Brom Shoemaker, Mr. Mark Matthews and Dr. Nancy Williamson. Director Ann Sexton and Lori Marcum were also present.

Chairperson Williamson called the meeting to order.

Chairperson Williamson presented the board agenda for approval. Mr. Shoemaker made a motion, with a second by Dr. Cross, to approve the board agenda. Vote was taken and motion carried.

Chairperson Williamson noted that the board and system had received superior applicants and had quality interviews for the position of Director of Schools. The names of all eight (8) applicants were read and she stated that Oneida was very fortunate. With that being said, Chairperson Williamson opened the floor for nominations for the position of Director of Schools. Mrs. Watson nominated Dr. Jeanny Hatfield. Mr. Matthews nominated Mr. Kevin Byrd. Dr. Williamson asked for any other nominations. No other nominations were offered and Mr. Shoemaker made a motion to cease nominations. A second was made by Dr. Cross. Vote was taken and motion carried.

Chairperson Williamson then handed each board member a ballot. The board was instructed to vote on the ballot. The votes were then handed to Board Secretary Lori Marcum who read the results aloud. The results were 3-2 in favor of Dr. Hatfield.

Chairperson Williamson then stated the there was a majority. With the majority vote, Mr. Shoemaker made a motion, with a second by Dr. Cross, to offer the position to Dr. Jeanny Hatfield. Vote was taken and motion carried.

Chairperson Williamson noted that the position would be offered to Dr. Hatfield and that a contract would be worked on and must be approved by the June board meeting.

With no further business before the board, Mr. Shoemaker made a motion, with a second by Dr. Cross, to adjourn. Vote was taken and motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:05.

Dr. Nancy Williamson Chairman of the Board Ann Sexton Director of Schools