

SARALAND Board of Education BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS Mr. William 'Bill' Silver – President Mrs. Renee Clarke – Vice-President Ms. Josephine Rodgers - Board Member Rev. Gary Shockley – Board Member Dr. Lonnie Burnett – Board Member

4010 Lil' Spartan Drive Saraland, Alabama 36571 Phone- 251-375-5420

SUPERINTENDENT- Aaron Milner, Ed.D.

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Frankie Mathis, Director of Secondary Education Office: (251) 375-5420 fmathis@saralandboe.org

Barnett Named Finalist for AL Presidential Award for Math and Science Teaching

SARALAND, AL (July 12, 2018) – Saraland Elementary School teacher, Mrs. Hannah Barnett, was selected as one of three Alabama math teachers named as an Alabama finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The three finalists' applications will now be forwarded to the national level to be evaluated by a team of judges. National award winners will receive \$10,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.

Dr. Milner, Superintendent of Saraland City Schools, commented on Barnett's honor, "I am thrilled Mrs. Barnett's talents as a teacher are being recognized by the Alabama Department of Education. On a daily basis, her caring attitude is evident, while the high expectations she has for every student entering her classroom is not compromised." Dr. Milner continued, "Students leave her class knowing they were challenged academically while also fully aware of the love their teacher has for them. Mrs. Barnett is a great representative of the outstanding teaching taking place in classrooms throughout Saraland City Schools."

Adding to Dr. Milner's appreciation and excitement, Mr. Stan Stokley, Saraland Elementary School Principal, commented, "This is a tremendous honor, a career milestone that few achieve, and we are thankful for Mrs. Barnett's dedication to the students at Saraland Elementary School."

The PAEMST is the highest honor bestowed by the government on K-12 mathematics and science teachers. Annually, the NSF receives recommendations from states and territories of some of their best and most inspiring teachers, then reviews the submissions and forwards recommendations to the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. This national award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and engages students in the learning process. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics or STEM (including computer science) education. Established by Congress in 1983, the President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year.

Best of luck to Mrs. Barnett in the next stage of the selection process!