## Regular Board Meeting Minutes February 18, 2013

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Lanny Orman, Jr. at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Nancy Duggan, Jace Patton, Carol Wilson, Lanny Orman,

Jr., Kenny Keller

Board members absent: Joanna Horton, Ronda Skube

Administrators attending: Alan Oakley, Rhonda Porter, Chad Collins, Martha

Blessing, J.R. Proctor, Stacey Proctor

Guest: Stephen Dubner

The board was called into executive session on February 18, 2013 at 7:00 pm by Lanny Orman, Jr. according to Section 551.071 of the Texas Open Meeting Act to discuss school safety.

The board returned to open session at 7:42 pm.

Wilson made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Patton seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Wilson made a motion to amend FNCE (Local) to enable the district to increase the fee for retrieval of the telecommunications device as permitted by State law giving parents' due process and a letter being included in the report cards. Patton seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Wilson made a motion to deny approval of Universal Academy expanding their enrollment because of the impact on the district by its possible impact on enrollment. Patton seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Wilson made a motion that vouchers, taxpayer savings grants, tax credits and other mechanisms cannot be used to reduce public education funding. Patton seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Wilson made a motion to approve Update 96 with the exclusion of EFAA (Local). Keller seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Keller made a motion to approve Alan Oakley, superintendent, to solicit bids to purchase air conditioners, approve contract, and procure an engineer as is needed by the Air Condition Grant. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Alan Oakley, superintendent, and Rhonda Porter, assistant superintendent, discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

The board was called into executive session on February 18, 2013 at 8:35 pm by President Lanny Orman, Jr. according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act to discuss personnel.

The board returned to open session at 9:26 pm.

Patton made a motion to extend by one additional year the following contracts: Rhonda Porter, J.R. Proctor, Chad Collins, Martha Blessing, Jason Bachtel, Stacey Proctor. Placing on a new two year contracts: Christian Reed, Tara Bachtel, Heather Jestis, Mark Sampson. Keller seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Wilson made a motion to adjourn at 9:30 pm. Patton seconded the motion. Motion carried una.

Lanny Orman, Jr., Board President

Kenny Keller, Vice President