ST. CLAIR COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION CENTRAL OFFICE CALLED BOARD MEETING December 1, 2015

The called meeting of the St. Clair County Board of Education was held on Tuesday, December 1, 2015. The board meeting began at 6:00 pm at the Central Office with the following board members in attendance:

Scott Suttle Marie Manning Angie Cobb John DeGaris Allison Gray Randy Thompson Terry Green

Others in attendance:

Gary Hanner

- 1. President Scott Suttle called the meeting to order.
- 2. A quorum of the board was present. All board members were in attendance.
- **3.** Ms. Seals recommended approval of the agenda. Mrs. Gray made the motion to accept the agenda as recommended and Mrs. Cobb gave the second. All members voted YES.
- **4.** Executive Session:

Attorney John Rea addressed the board by stating:

Now, we need to go into executive session to discuss a pending litigation concerning the board. Before going into executive session on these grounds, the Alabama Open Meetings Act requires an oral declaration reflected in the minutes from an attorney licensed to practice law in Alabama that this exception is applicable to the planned discussion, and I make that declaration. We need a motion calling for an executive session to discuss these matters and a roll call vote of each member of this Board needs to be recorded in the minutes. We are also required to give an estimated time that the executive session will take. After discussion it was decided that it would take approximately 30 minutes. The Board will reconvene at that time.

Mr. Suttle asked for a motion to adjourn to executive session. Mrs. Cobb made the motion to dismiss to executive session and Mrs. Gray gave the second. Mr. Suttle, Mrs. Manning, Mrs. Cobb, Mr. DeGaris, Mr. Thompson, Mrs. Gray and Mr. Green voted in favor of dismissing to executive session.

At 7:45 Mr. Suttle asked for a vote to reconvene from executive session. All members voted in favor.

5. President Scott Suttle recommended approval to adjourn. Mr. Thompson moved to approve the recommendation.

Approved the 14th day of December, 2015

Board President

Board Secretary