## Wapello Community School District Board of Directors Special Meeting 3/15/2017

The Wapello Board of Education met in open session for a special meeting at 6:00 p.m. at the Central Administration Building Board Room. Those present included Duane Boysen, Doug Housman, Larry Miller, Eric Smith, Matt Stewart, Supt. Peterson, Board Secretary Eric Small, and a representative of the news media was also present.

President Duane Boysen called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

<u>Approval of Agenda:</u> Motion by Smith and seconded by Miller to approve the agenda. Motion carried with a 5-0 voice vote.

## **Community Forum:**

<u>Consideration to Approve FFA Trip to State Convention</u>: Danielle Wanfalt was present to ask the board for permission to take the FFA students to State Convention. No formal motion was required.

<u>FY18 Certified Budget Presentation</u> – Eric Small took the board through a power point presentation on the FY18 budget and asked if the board had any concerns or questions. Seeing none, the proposed budget will be published on March 30.

<u>Presentation of 2017-2018 School Calendar</u> – Supt. Peterson took the board through the proposed 2017-2018 school calendar. This will be published on the website and will have a public hearing on April 12.

Consideration to go into Closed Session to Discuss Termination of a Non-Certified District Employee as Per Iowa Code 21.5(i)(1) — Motion by Housman and seconded by Miller to go into closed session as Per Iowa Code 21.5(i)(1). Roll call vote was taken with all members voting "aye". The board entered closed session at 6:34 p.m.

Motion By Smith and seconded by Housman to come out of closed session at 6:44 p.m. Motion carried with a 5-0 roll call vote.

<u>Consideration to Terminate Contract of a Non-Certified District Employee</u> – Motion by Stewart and seconded by Housman to terminate the contract of Drew Kelley. Motion carried with a 5-0 voice vote.

**Adjournment**: Motion by Stewart and seconded by Miller to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried with a 5-0 voice vote at 6:46 p.m.

Duane Boysen, President

Eric Small, Secretary