The Marshall County Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, September 17, 2012, at 6:30 p.m. in the Board Conference Room at Jones School.

Members present were Kristen Gold, Susan Hunter, Harvey Jones, Barbara Kennedy, Mike Keny, Ken Lilly, Sheryl McClintock, Donnie Moses, and Randy Perryman. No members were absent.

Mr. Keny welcomed new board members Susan Hunter, Ken Lilly and Sheryl McClintock.

Prayer/Pledge

Ms. Abernathy opened the floor for nominations for Chairman of the Board. Mr. Perryman nominated Mr. Keny for the position. Ms. Gold made a motion, with a second by Ms. Kennedy, to close nominations. The motion passed 9-0; Mr. Keny was named Chairman of the Board.

Mr. Keny then asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Mr. Jones nominated Mr. Perryman. Ms. Hunter made a motion, with a second by Mr. Jones, to cease nominations and elect Mr. Perryman as Vice-Chairman. The motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Keny then asked for nominations for Chairman Pro-Tem. Mr. Jones nominated Mr. Moses for the position. Ms. Kennedy made a motion, with a second by Ms. Gold, to cease nominations and elect Mr. Moses as Chairman Pro-Tem. The motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Jones made a motion, with a second by Mr. Perryman, to approve the agenda. The motion passed 9-0.

Director Jackie Abernathy, assisted by Deputy Director Beth Wright, presented certificates and medals to the system's 100% TCAP students.

Mr. Keny then drew the board's attention to the artwork lining the walls; Forrest School students, under the direction of teacher Leslyn Lockhart, created the works of art.

Peggy Hubbard addressed the board to publicly thank school system employees for supporting Imagination Library.

Friends of Henry Horton State Park members Stacey Cothran and Teresa Dugger, Horton Park Ranger Randy Whitworth, and Chapel Hill Elementary School 5th grade teacher Cindy Gabard were on hand to thank the system for supporting the Duck River Watershed Education and Action Project, which resulted in Marshall County receiving the 2012 Governor's Environmental Stewardship Award.

Prior to the approval of the minutes, Ms. Kennedy, Mr. Keny, and Mr. Moses read a disclosure statement in reference to the August 31 Special Called Session, during which board members approved the budget. Ms. Kennedy made a motion, with a second by Mr. Jones, to approve the minutes of the August 9 regular session and the August 31 special called meeting with the disclosure statements added to the record. The motion passed 9-0.

MCEA President Nicky Randolph told the board that teachers have expressed concern over the efforts of enforcing the dress code and how much time those efforts are taking out of their day. Teachers have requested the dress code be revisited.

Ms. Kennedy scheduled a Policy Committee meeting for Tuesday, September 25 at 5:30 p.m.

Mr. Perryman scheduled a Maintenance Committee meeting immediately following the September 25th Policy Committee meeting.

Mr. Lilly scheduled a Five-Year Strategic Plan Committee meeting for Tuesday, October 2 at 5:30 p.m.

Before approving the consent agenda, Ms. Abernathy stated that a Lewisburg Middle School PTO fundraiser for Little Caesars Pizza cards approved in June needs to be changed to Sonic cards. Mr. Perryman made a motion, with a second by Mr. Jones, to approve the consent agenda (attached), with the addition of the LMS PTO fundraiser change. The motion passed 9-0.

Ms. Kennedy made a motion, with a second by Mr. Perryman, to approve the Food Service Surplus list (attached) and allow any Marshall County 501(c)(3) legal, charitable, non-profit organization to submit their name for consideration to obtain an item from the list; any unclaimed items will be scrapped. The motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Jones made a motion, with a second by Ms. Kennedy, to approve a 3-hour/day (1-1/2 hr. a.m., 1-1/2 hr. p.m.) crossing guard for both Cornersville Elementary School and Oak Grove Elementary School. The motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Jones made a motion, with a second by Mr. Perryman, to hold monthly board meetings on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. The motion passed 9-0.

There was no New Business.

During Director's Report, Ms. Abernathy asked that the topic of annual agenda be included in the upcoming 5-year strategic plan meeting.

Mr. Perryman made a motion, with a second by Mr. Jones, to accept the grant to fund a cross country team at Forrest Middle School as long as funding is available from an external source. The motion passed 9-0.

Ms. Abernathy asked the board's permission to increase the hours of Shirley Wilson from 7 per day to 8 per day (11 months). The motion passed 9-0.

Ms. Abernathy stated that due to low reading/language arts scores and the high free and reduced lunch numbers, the Title budget has been amended to ask for an instructional facilitator at Lewisburg Middle School pending approval from the state; she asked the board's approval to post the position pending funding from Title. Ms. Kennedy made a motion, with a second by Mr. Moses, to post the position. The motion passed 9-0.

Mr. Jones made a motion, with a second by Mr. Perryman, to bid two 90-seat buses. The motion passed 9-0.

Concluding her Director's Report, Ms. Abernathy announced that PLCs (Professional Learning Communities) are being implemented in all the schools. She then provided a budget update for the new board members, including the fact that the County Commission would be voting on our budget on Monday, September 24; once the budget passes, repairs will begin on school roofs, as well as addressing other issues at our facilities.

Before the conclusion of the meeting, Mr. Keny read: a thank you card from Vicky Carlton and Jessica Carlton for allowing them to attend the FBLA National Convention; a thank you note from Jerry's Refrigeration for the help provided them by maintenance employees Dwayne Cheeves and Ricky Hitchcock.

The meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mike Keny, Chairman

Jackie Abernathy, Director